Dress or shirt?

Dresses, Shirts

Guys, I need your help! As you may know, I’m currently working on the ‘City Dress’ by La Maison Victor. Although…the term ‘dress’ may not apply, because I’m considering some major alterations.

I’m very pleased with the results so far, but I’m not sure I like it as a dress. The whole dress fits like a glove, except for the back. It’s kind of gaping at the back, which I’m not very fond of. Since the dress has no back seam, there’s not much to do about it.

IMG_20140608_190045

But…what if I cut it off and make it into a shirt? I might even like it better! Of course it’s a bit bulky here, because I hid the entire skirt under the shirt.

IMG_20140608_190446

That’s where I need your help: what do you prefer? Dress or shirt? And would you add the sleeves or keep it this way? So many options!
wpid-abm_1402248816.jpgWhat do you think? Dress or shirt?

5 thoughts on “Dress or shirt?

  1. I love the fabric you chose! I think it looks much better as a shirt than a dress and if you leave it as a shirt, then I would add sleeves.

    I found your blog through Burdastyle and I love it!

  2. In those pictures I prefer the top… but what if you made the dress a bit shorter? But I love the contrasting fabrics, looks great!

  3. They are both so pretty!
    I would go with the dress because I just love dresses….
    and no sleeves 🙂

  4. In case you haven’t made the decision just yet, the shirt for me. I really like both but just feel it hangs best as a shirt. The fabric is great by the way!

Leave a Reply

