Valentino Red with a V&R bow

Dresses

About a year ago I had to attend a party, but suddenly had nothing to wear. Doesn’t every girl have that problem? ūüėČ So I decided to make a new dress for the occasion. It was going to be really hot and sunny that day,¬†so I didn’t want a super tight dress. This dress was the perfect solution! Super comfy, yet special enough because of the bow. And very easy to make.¬†The only disadvantage is that you need quite a lot of fabric, because of the batwing¬†sleeves and the bow sash.

Fabric choice

For this dress I used red cotton cupro, which is a nice alternative to silk. It’s quite cheap, which always comes in handy for a project that needs 2,5 meters of fabric. Also, because it’s mostly cotton (opposed to the synthetic cupro you often find in fabric stores), it’s a good fabric choice for a nice summer dress. The only disadvantage is the fact that it creases rapidly, so it’s not a dress you take with you in a suitcase.

Bow sash

I like bows. A lot. Sometimes I think I’m the long lost sister of Viktor and Rolf, because just like them, I put bows on everything I make. You’ll notice when I upload more of my garments.

Even though I like bows, I didn’t want to end up like this:
viktorrolf

so I kept it simple and went for a nice bow sash with beveled ends:

Schermafbeelding 2014-05-26 om 21.31.34

But I’m sure I’m going to buy this perfume one day to give my outfits just that extra hint of V&R.

viktorrolfbonbon

Bows make everything¬†better. Don’t you agree?

5 thoughts on “Valentino Red with a V&R bow

    1. Thank you for the kind words! And this dress is actually a good project for a beginner, since you don’t need to insert sleeves, a zipper or button holes. Let me know if I can help you with anything! Making and wearing handmade garments is awesome!

    1. Thank you! I used a pattern from the dutch magazine Knipmode, but it’s basically a lengthened kimono top, so you can easily draft it yourself.

Leave a Reply

