It’s a wrap!

Blouses

Just like everyone else in the sewing community, my heart skipped a beat when I saw this wrapped blouse pattern in Burda Magazine.

115_0414_B_large

 

I loved the simple shape, and figured this might turn out to be the white blouse I’ve been looking for.

tech_115_large
I had some blue cupro satin in my stash. Normally I would go for fabric with a bit more body, but I decided to test the pattern with this fabric. I broadened the shoulders a bit, since that’s the part that’s always a bit too narrow for me with Burda patterns. I also lengthened the hem with 5 cm. I’m tall (1.80 m), so perhaps that’s not necessary when you have a ‘normal’ length.

IMG_20140531_191535
I’m pretty happy with the result, although I’m definitely going for fabric with a bit more ‘stiffness’ the next time I make this blouse. I think supple cotton suits this pattern best. I think my version turned out a bit too ‘whobbly’ because of the slippery fabric. And, fair enough, I really should haveĀ ironed the shirt before taking pictures of it ;-) But I’m really happy with it, as shown with this ill attempt at making a charming jumping picture in my brand new blouse:

IMG_20140531_191337

5 thoughts on “It’s a wrap!

  1. I saw your lovely blouse in the projects section of burdastyle! Obviously I had to check out your blog! It seems like it’s fairly new (or maybe you just recently changed to wordpress?) but it looks lovely, I followed you, I can’t wait to see your future projects!

    1. Hi Clemence, thank you for your kind words! You are right, this blog is rather new, I started only a few weeks ago. I hope you’ll also like my blog in the future! :)

  2. I forgot to broaden the shoulders … now I have to make it again :)
    Love your blue version with the softer fabric !!!

Leave a Reply

